The Department of Finance.—The Department of Finance, created in June 1868, is under the authority of the Minister of Finance. The Department is responsible for the financial administration of Canada including raising the money required for the various governmental activities by way of taxation or borrowing. The Comptroller of the Treasury, an officer of the Department, is responsible for all Government disbursements.

The work of the Department is organized in seven principal Divisions: Administration, Financial Administration and Accounting Policy, Superannuation, Treasury Board, Taxation, Economic Policy, and International Economic Relations. The Royal Canadian Mint is a branch of the Department. The Inspector General of Banks and the Comptroller of the Treasury are officers of the Department.

The Tariff Board and the Canadian Farm Loan Board are responsible to Parliament through the Minister of Finance.

The Department of Fisheries.—The Department of Fisheries was first organized under a Minister of Fisheries in 1930. Prior to that date the federal fisheries services were maintained by the former Department of Marine and Fisheries, established in 1868. The provinces, under various arrangements, have certain administrative responsibilities in the fisheries but the legislative authority for the regulations of coastal and fresh-water fisheries is with the Federal Department of Fisheries.

The work of the Department includes: conservation and development of the fisheries through the enforcement of fishing regulations, the operation of fish-culture establishments, management and improvement of spawning streams and control of predators; inspection of fish products for quality control and the encouragement of industrial development; promotion of the greatest utilization of fishery products and a proper public understanding of the resource and the industry.

Agencies connected with the Department are the Fisheries Prices Support Board and the Fisheries Research Board of Canada. The Department is represented on these International Commissions: Pacific Salmon Fisheries, Pacific Halibut, that for the Northwest Atlantic Fisheries, North Pacific Fisheries and Whaling.

The Department of Insurance.—The Minister of Finance is responsible for the Department of Insurance which originated in 1875. Under the Superintendent of Insurance, the Department administers the statutes of Canada applicable to: insurance, trust and loan companies incorporated by the Parliament of Canada; provincially incorporated insurance companies registered with the Department; British and foreign insurance companies operating in Canada; small loans companies and money-lenders; and Civil Service insurance. See also Chap. XXVI (Part II) and Chap. XXVII.

Under the relevant provincial statutes, the Department examines provincial trust companies in the Provinces of Manitoba and New Brunswick and loan and trust companies in the Province of Nova Scotia.

A Fire Prevention Branch was organized in 1919 with responsibility for the administration of Sect. 515 of the Criminal Code. It maintains fire-loss records, makes inspections, reports on fire-prevention legislation and protection methods and endeavours to extend and co-ordinate fire-prevention work in Canada.

The Department of Justice.—This Department provides legal services to the Government and the various government departments, including preparing and settling government legislation, settling instruments issued under the Great Seal, regulating and conducting litigation for or against the Crown, superintending the acquisition of property and prosecutions under federal legislation other than the Criminal Code, administers federal statutes dealing with legal matters and provides administrative services for the Supreme Court of Canada and the Exchequer Court.

The Department also superintends the penitentiaries and administers the prison system of Canada.

The Department of Labour.—The Department of Labour was established in 1900 by Act of Parliament (63-64 Vict., c. 24). The Department administers, under the Minister of Labour, legislation dealing with: industrial relations, investigation of disputes, etc.; fair employment practices; the regulation of fair wages and hours of labour; government annuities; government employee compensation; merchant seamen compensation; vocational training; publication of the Labour Gazette, as well as bulletins giving information on industrial and related subjects.

The Unemployment Insurance Commission and National Employment Service are also under the direction of the Minister of Labour. The Canada Labour Relations Board and the National Advisory Council on Manpower also act on behalf of the Minister of Labour. The Department is the official liaison agency between the Canadian Government and the International Labour Organization.

The Department of Mines and Technical Surveys.—This Department was created by an Act of Parliament (13 Geo. VI, c. 17) which received Royal Assent on Dec. 10, 1949. Its establishment resulted from the reorganization of certain former departments into an